The Moon Cycles



The Moon:

Represents the Goddess & the Soul (origins in the Goddess)

Emotions and inner self

Psychic and spiritual energies associated with Higher Self

Psychic & magical abilities strongest at full moon, inward at new moon

Sea (80% of earth) and gravity affected by the moon

Women’s cycles often attune to the moon (menstrual blood considered powerful & magical)


Dark Moon:

The original meaning of the new moon was considered the first night the first sliver of the moon could be seen again. The astrological new moon (i.e. the point in time when the moon is completely invisible to earth i.e. at the moment of conjunction in ecliptic longitude with the Sun) is referred to as the Dark moon.

The Dark moon itself is a time for divination and personal working, a quiet time, a time for holding power

New Moon:

First night new sliver of moon visible, begins waxing phase

Maiden Goddess

New beginnings & growth

Work for things we want to start, develop, cultivate, learn, focus on goals etc


Waxing Moon:

Build up to full moon

Bringing things towards us as power of moon grows

Time for external growth & development


Full Moon:

Light of moon at height in middle of its cycle

Mother Goddess

Over 3 day period (one day on either side of the calendar date)

Energy of moon at strongest

Work for those things we most wish to manifest


Waning Moon:

Decrease from full to dark

Crone Goddess

Work for things we want to release, cleanse, let go of, endings

Time for internal growth & integration


Blue Moon:

Most years have 12 moon cycles which occur more or less monthly. Each solar calendar year has roughly 11 days more than a lunar year of 12 lunar cycles. The extra days accumulate, so every 2 or 3 years there is an extra full moon in a calendar year. A current misconception states a blue moon is the second full moon in a calendar month – this is  an interpretation error from 1949 which became the common definition and is still in popular use today, despite the error being discovered in 1999. The error occurred in a publication of Sky & Telescope, and was subsequently picked up by other media.

Folklore differs, generally each full moon over a 12 month period had a name, so when there was an extra moon, it was called the Blue moon to maintain the correct times for the other moons over that 12 month cycle.

Every season usually has 3 full moons. In the Farmer’s Almanac (annual periodical in publication since 1818), any season that had an extra moon, the third full moon of that season out of the 4 full moons was called a Blue moon .



The Hindu, Thai, Hebrew, Islamic, Tibetan, Mayan, Pagan, Germanic, Celtic and traditional Chinese calendars are all based on the phases of the moon. In the Buddhist tradition the full moon days are sacred and called Poya in Sinhala, the dominant language of the Buddhist majority in Sri Lanka.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s