NEW MOON


The New Moon is ruled by the Maiden Goddess.

If wanting to invoke a God as well, choose a Hero archetype whose qualities are sympathetic to Goddess being invoked.

Occurs when Moon is in conjunction with Sun, astrological placement of New Moon same as Sun.

New Moon Energy

Attune to the energy of the Waxing Moon.

Repair the aura and reinvigorate the energetic system.

Bring about growth & increase.

Invocation – Goddess

“Maiden Goddess, I invoke You at this time of the New Moon, when the waxing light carries our hopes forward. Joyful Maiden, Lady of Laughter, Mistress of All Arts – the Sun and Moon are your adornments, and the Sky Your mirror. Lady of Creativity, Playful One, Bless me as I pray, and share with me Your qualities of inspiration, self-expression and wonder. I bid you Hail and Welcome”

Invocation – God

“Gentle God, Hero and Champion, Friend and Protector, You are Brother of the Maiden, Her Companion and Her Other Self – Lord of the Sun and Fire, be with me as I pray, and share with me Your qualities of courage and passion. Help me to carry my dreams and hopes forward in this time of the New Moon. I bid you Hail and Welcome”

Invocation – Ancestors

“Mighty Ancestors, Beloved Ones Who have gone before, I invoke You and ask You to join me and to Bless me. Ancestors of the lineage, Spiritual family who aid and support me – lend me Your inspiration and Your love, Your guidance and Your aid this night I pray. Beloved Ones, I bid you Hail and Welcome”

Spirit / Intent

“I come tonight to celebrate the Esbat of the New Moon. From now until the Full Moon the Lunar energies will wax and grow stronger. I attune myself to this energy, that my hopes and goals may grow stronger during this period as well. Now is the time of the Maiden Goddess, Lady of creativity and self-expression. I call upon my own creativity in this undertaking.”

“Maiden Goddess, at this time of the New Moon I ask You to help me to attune to Your energy. Give me the gift of Your essence, that I may grow even as Your light waxes.”

Devocation – Ancestors

“Beloved Ancestors, You Who have gone before, Your wisdom and Your example guide me. I pray that You will be with me and aid me as I go forward, that I may call upon the strength and knowledge of the past, even as I build the future. I thank You for Your presence and Your aid this night, and at all times. May You Blessed Be in all things. I offer You my love and respect. I bid You Hail and Farewell”

Devocation – God

“Young Lord of the Sun, Hero and Champion, Friend and Protector, Your Courage and Your devotion inspire me. I pray that You will be with me and aid me as I go forward, that even as the Sun rises at dawn I too may rise and show my light to the world. I thank You for Your presence and Your aid this night, and at all times. I offer You my love and respect. I bid You Hail and Farewell”

Devocation – Goddess

“Maiden Goddess, Lady of the Waxing Moon, Mistress of beginnings and of growth, Your joy and Your creativity enliven me. I pray that You will be with me and aid me as I go forward, that even as the Moon’s light grows, I too may grow and shine forth as a perfect expression of Goddess. I thank You for Your presence and Your aid this night, and at all times. I offer You my love and respect. I bid You Hail and Farewell”

Leave a Reply

